My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

A walk on Åsöberget

aso-1

Another part of Södermalm with preserved buildings from days long gone is Åsöberget. The houses were built by and for sailors, ship yard workers etc. The visual impression one gets when seen together with the surrounding modern buildings is strange, but let’s take a closer look at them.

aso-2

This is what it could have looked like a century ago (apart from the antenna on the roof). I hesitated for a while, because faking images requires both experience and good taste but I thought it was worth a try in this case.

aso-3

Rows of cottages with fenced gardens. It looks idyllic now, but life was different back then. No electricity, no water, bathroom, no shower, no central heating, no nothing apart from somewhere to live. Still, I’m grateful that these houses were renovated in the 60’s.

aso-4

Another plague of the past was that people used to have tenants get enough money to pay the rent. Up to seven people living in one room was common and I don’t want to think of the stench. Most people who lived in this block worked at the shipyard and some families had probably had members working there for generations. The shipyard was located on the same site for 220 years (1687-1907).

aso-5

Ok, some were better off – just take a look at the gates. They tell a lot. I don’t know who it was built for or for what purpose it was built but it signals wealth.

aso-6

And this is what the house behind the gates looks like from the back side. Not as tiny and “cute” as the cottages in the surroundings; this is strict and elegant and this is also where I left Åsöberget for today.

4 responses

  1. Great site this staffanhussinenglish.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

    05/04/2009 at 19:12

  2. nice site this staffanhussinenglish.wordpress.com rated to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

    11/04/2009 at 07:07

  3. terrific site this staffanhussinenglish.wordpress.com terrific to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

    18/04/2009 at 15:14

  4. Staffan H

    All: Thank you for your kind words.

    12/05/2009 at 00:47

Leave a Reply

