My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

More night photos from The Old Town

staffan-sasses-grand

I have just finished editing the images I took today, but I don’t have the time to make a selection, adjust the images to WordPress’s demands and write my usual short story (sometimes novel) about them, so I decided to take what was available in store instead. We are now paying a visit to another Staffan, because this street is called Staffan Sasses gränd. No need to say that I like the address.

branda-tomten-1

Brända tomten – I took a couple of shots from here on the previous post, but they were more oriented towards Själagårdsgatan and Kindstugatan.

branda-tomten-2

Another shot of Brända tomten (a rough translation: The burned site) and one can clearly see how it got its name. Once upon a time there was a wonderful house here, but it caught fire in 1728 and the owner never built it up again. The town’s architect had suggested that the town should have the option to buy such lots from their owners to get places where carriages could turn. He obviously got it his way.

torget

Footprints in the snow from people passing by.

mot-osterlanggatan

A bronze copy of Bernt Notke’s wooden sculpture of Saint George and the dragon. The original is inside the Stockholm Cathedral.

2 responses

  1. sambissell

    I absolutely LOVE these images!

    Simple as that……..love them!

    All best-
    Sam

    01/03/2009 at 08:18

  2. Staffan H

    Sam: Thank you! I’m glad you liked them. 😀

    01/03/2009 at 09:00

Leave a Reply

