My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

I stayed indoors today

ost

I’m sorry but I stayed indoors today so you will have to bear with a couple of images from earlier this week. What did I do indoors all day then? I bet you are curious now. Okay, I did portraiture in my tiny home studio and had fun, but you won’t find any of those photos here.

It felt like the things I learned and the experiences I made on the courses were more like pieces in a jigsaw puzzle than knowledge and the best way to get the pieces in place is to practise. As you probably have seen here, I have done a little object photography now and then that I have posted on the blog.

Working in the studio is fun and I felt that this was something I wanted to learn more about and learning the basic technique on a course does not mean that one has it under one’s skin. Getting used to your own gear is important. I can now take a reading with the light meter and get the correct exposure and I can get the light I want for the image I am about to take.

osk-em

Still I feel that I have a long way to go before I can say that I know something about it and the only way forward is practise, practise and practise. The things I have bought are not very special, but minimalism is good for the creativity and ingenuity is good for one’s development.

These are important things to be aware of, if you ask me, because most of the job behind a great shot depends on the photographer and not the equipment, even if a good camera and a good lens are inspiring tools. Pushing your limits forward is what it’s all about.

2 responses

  1. Steffie

    How very true! But I am getting more and more curious about your set up because I have already seen some great shots you made in your studio with your ‘not very special’ equipment. Maybe one day you will write a post about it?

    15/02/2009 at 11:04

  2. Staffan H

    Steffie: Thank you for your kind words. I probably will, sooner or later… 😉

    15/02/2009 at 11:43

Leave a Reply

