My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Digging among my stored images

fr-vasterbron

Staying at home with a cold means that I don’t get so many opportunities to take new pictures. Tomorrow is another day and I’m going to work tomorrow and look forward to it. This meant that I finally had to dive into my stored photos and see what I possibly could dig out there. I found these images.

The photo above was taken on a cold evening in December 2007. I should have known better, but stubborn as I am, I decided to go out and take pictures despite the weather. It is taken from the top of Västerbron, a bridge connecting Kungsholmen and Södermalm. Getting acceptable night shots from there means that one, indeed, has to go out very late in the evening. Otherwise the traffic will cause vibrations and you can probably figure out yourself what the images would look like then.

When I came home, it was only too clear to me that these precautions were not enough. A couple of buses and trucks had obviously passed while I was taking pictures and it was obvious that the tripod and the camera had been shaking. Still, I had a load of acceptable images so I was content and believe me when I say that I felt good when I got aboard the warm bus afterwards.

grand-om-natten

The remaining two photos were taken under different and better conditions. It took the pictures a late summer evening in August when the weather was nice. Of course I had no tripod with me but, as we say in Swedish, the need is the mother of all inventions, so I used the closest wall as a support and it worked. Still, it is nothing I recommend.

Lucky me I was not spotted by any policemen on patrol. On the other hand, this would have meant that they would have been eyewitnesses to a miraculous recovery – I mean, how would they know that I just stopped and decided to support an old building while taking a picture on my way home from work?

marten-trotzigs-grand

I have posted an image similar to this one on the blog. The only difference is the orientation. I remember having difficulties when I tried to decide which one I should post. This one lost, but it has got its revenge now. It is a picture of Mårten Trotzigs gränd in the Old Town and it is the most narrow lane to be found in Stockholm.

It is very popular among the tourists, which means that it is hard to get a good shot of it daytime. I found it deserted when I passed and took advantage of it. I usually find images of abandoned streets a little spooky, but it did not matter in this case; I somehow managed to catch the atmosphere anyway.

And that was the last word from Stockholm for today. Thanks for stopping by. Hope to see you here again soon. 🙂

4 responses

  1. Great photos Staffan. They really convinced me that I do have to visit Stockholm some day.

    11/02/2009 at 22:45

  2. Staffan H

    Ovidiu: Thanks a million and welcome to Stockholm! The flight time is only about 2 hrs 25 mins from Dublin. 😀

    11/02/2009 at 23:00

  3. I was actulay thinking of driving down there. We had planned to do this last summer but we decided to go to France. My mom is in Norway 🙂

    11/02/2009 at 23:17

  4. Staffan H

    Ovidiu: I see. Going to France wasn’t a bad decision either and don’t worry – it doesn’t matter if you go by car and ferries or what means of transportation you choose; both Norway and Sweden will remain were they are whenever you decide to come. 😆

    11/02/2009 at 23:39

Leave a Reply

