My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Do you remember this one?

limesnitt1

I posted this photo of a lime section a couple of weeks ago. Thanks to my blogging, I have also made a couple of good blog friends. That’s one of the advantages with a blog. Another advantage is that I get a chance to see other picture styles than mine and get some inspiration. This is not the same as trying to copy their styles. I got mine and they got theirs and we all develop our different styles the way we choose to.

One of them, Sam Bissell (you’ll find the link to his blog in my blog roll), has developed a couple of processes of his own which he often uses on his own images. I can admit that I didn’t understand much of it the first time I saw it, but there was something to learn and understand so I kept visiting his page and looked at his images.

And so one of these daily life miracles happened. I noticed that his processes often highlights details and things in an image that normally would have looked flat. Thanks to his processes, they now looked interesting and became important parts of the composition.

One day I got an e-mail from Sam with a couple of attachments. He had copied my photo of the lime section and processed it in his own way. That was a very pleasant surprise and it definitely made my day. In fact, I liked them so much that I asked if it was ok to publish them on my blog and here they are. Enjoy!

staffans-exploding-lime

This image is called Staffan’s Exploding Lime.

just-below-the-surface-they-swim

This one was named Just Below the Surface, They Swim.

vesicles-in-the-sea

And, finally, Vesicles in the Sea.

Aren’t they fantastic?

4 responses

  1. sambissell

    Thank you so much, my Good Friend!
    It is an honor to be displayed on your blog, for not only this side of the world to see but those on your side of the world as well!

    Many, many thanks!
    All my best-
    Sam

    29/01/2009 at 06:33

  2. Staffan H

    Sam: And thanks to you for running my image through your processes! It was a great honor.

    All my best,
    Staffan

    29/01/2009 at 11:48

  3. Excellent.

    11/02/2009 at 22:47

  4. Staffan H

    Ovidiu: Thank you. 🙂

    11/02/2009 at 23:06

Leave a Reply

