My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Stockholm, Christmas Day

Today's view from the Metro station at home

Today's view from the Metro station at home

The weather changed today and we got temperatures just below zero. This is the view from the Metro station at home today. One could imagine that there was a sun somewhere behind the clouds but that was all the sun we had during the day.

Kungsträdgården and St James's Church

Kungsträdgården and St James's Church

I took a walk through the city on my way home from work. Getting a taxi would not be a problem and the streets were fairly empty. Nevertheless, many convenience stores were open today and so were many McDonald’s restaurants as well.

Another part of Kungsträdgården and a lonely skater

Another part of Kungsträdgården and a lonely skater

Believe it or not, but I actually spotted a couple of people skating on my way through Kungsträdgården. Any accompanying music was not provided, but they seemed to manage well without it. The lonely skaters gave an impression of ants on ice from where I stood.

After having taken a couple of shots, I continued my walk through the city, enjoying the peace and tranquility of Christmas.

2 responses

  1. sambissell

    Wonderful! Now I know where you live! Does the train rumble passed your house in the middle of the night (assuming the “metro” is a train)?

    01/01/2009 at 08:27

  2. Staffan H

    Sam: I have lived here for 15 years now so I’m not disturbed by the trains. The only thing that can be disturbing is maintenance works being carried out in the middle of the night but it doesn’t happen too often.

    The use of the word “metro” is my way of compromising between the British English (=what I was taught in school) word “Underground” and the American English word for the same thing, i e “Subway”. When I lived in Ireland, they used the word “Metro” and when I began blogging in English I thought of Metro as the most international word for it.

    01/01/2009 at 14:28

Leave a Reply

