My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Travelling by time machine?

Railcar X4p No 37 built in 1938 in Hägernäs

Railcar X4p No 37 built in 1938 in Hägernäs

I had Sunday off but was asked if I could drive a chartered vintage train. A non-profit society keep a couple of railcars and other rolling stock from the past. From the past by the way? They were in regular service until the early 90’s – I worked, in other words, on a very antique commuter railway. Why not spend a couple of hours doing that? It’s fun, so I accepted it instantly.

Interior from the driver's cab

Interior from the driver's cab

Because I took it out of the shed, it was not just a matter of doing “pantograph up and go”. It had to be pre-serviced too. This means that I do a functionality check to see that all important parts, like brakes, suspension, dead man’s device etc are ok and work as they should. I also check that lights are ok and that there are spare fuses etc aboard before we go.

The passengers came and, judging from what I heard through the door, they all had a good time and looked happy when they left the train. Getting this effect from a couple of hours voluntary work isn’t a bad thing.

2 responses

  1. sambissell

    WOW! I haven’t been by for a while and this shows that I ought to come by more often! My Dad was a c-o-m-p-l-e-t-e railfan (or, in better words, a rail NUT). When he passed away, I inherited his entire collection of RR memorabilia and these photos bring back some pretty vivid memories of the stuff he loved and the trains I rode as a kid!
    I absolutely LOVE the photo of the interior of the cab………….and I know he would too!
    Thanks!

    01/01/2009 at 08:21

  2. Staffan H

    Sam: Despite the fact that I’m a bit of a railfan myself, I have always thought of collecting RR memorabilia as something strange, however, with time I have realised that it’s not just about collecting things and photos – it’s also a matter of collecting important keys to the past.

    Times are changing and we forget what it was like “in the old days”, but things and objects kept here and there remind us about the conditions people worked under, what tools they used etc. and knowing the past is a must if you want to be able to appreciate the present and the future.

    01/01/2009 at 13:58

Leave a Reply

