My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

My Friday

I thought it was dawn when I woke up because it was still rather dark, but when I glanced at my watch I found that it was 09:30 and that it was the weather that made the sky as grey and dark as lead. I got out of bed and moved out in the kitchen to get some breakfast. After the breakfast I heard some strange sounds from outside. There are plenty of strange sounds around me in Stockholm, but here…? I went back to the kitchen, looked out and found this busy digging in the field behind my house. I wonder why. Anyway, it disappeared when its mission was completed.

A look around the house made me realise that this is not needed any longer, so I decided that it will have to spend the winter in the cellar. All that remains to take care of now are the barrels collecting rain water, but I think it is a little too early to take them in.

I took a walk to the recycling bins in the afternoon and of course I brought the camera with me. I have no dog so I try to bring the camera out for a walk instead. The weather could have been better, but one could really feel the smell of wet grass, leaves etc this afternoon. The fact that I’m not a country boy was only too clear today. I should have put my wellies or at least something of the kind on, but of course I didn’t think of it until it was a little too late. Things like that doesn’t stop me though and I got today’s picture of the season.

When I came back to my house, I spotted these on one of the bushes in the garden. Summer flowers in October? Not bad!

Well, what more have I done today? I have defrosted the refrigerator (boring), read a little, washed clothes, cleaned the refrigerator before I started it, cooked and watched television. That’s about it. They say that we will get nicer weather tomorrow and I hope the weather forecast is right because there are things I need to do outdoors as well.

2 responses

  1. Steffie

    My, you have been productive. In your house as well as on your blog. Love your holiday’s accounts. Can almost picture you there. Do you have one of these nice wooden stuga’s?
    We used to stay in one of those during our swedisch holidays many years ago somewhere in Tiveden (?). Your logs bring it all back to me.

    26/10/2008 at 11:19

  2. Staffan H

    Steffie: That’s the way it goes when the weather is bad. 🙂

    I have a stone house and I’m the first to use it as a holiday home. It is built for permanent living and not as a “sommarstuga”, but people move from here because there are no jobs around which makes house prices a bargain and well, I think you can figure out the rest.

    So you have spent summer holidays in Tiveden? I think I drove through the outskirts of Tiveden earlier this year and it was great.

    26/10/2008 at 12:17

Leave a Reply

