My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

It all began as a walk

I went to a flea market yesterday to see what they could offer. I bought one thing, but I didn’t find what I was looking for. The weather was nice so I decided to take a walk in the neighbourhood. The first metres were really nice – then things suddenly became spooky.

I’m born in Stockholm and have spent most of my life living here. It is now only too clear that there are still some white spots on the map. Of course I knew that there were industries there not too long ago, but the sights I saw yesterday seemed unreal to me and the first thing that came to my mind was foreign films – they usually chase the bad guys in surroundings like these. The next impression I got was that I could be looking at documentary images from the former East block. At least no guns were discharged – the only thing that was discharged was my camera.

My brain kept working at an alarming high speed during the walk. What was their product? Industries like this here – near peoples’ homes! How do I best catch the beauty in the decline?

Environment friendly? Probably not!

A number of changes has been made through the years. The building in the background must be much older than the tanks.

Strange and fascinating ways of solving different problems.

I don’t know when the factory was shut down, but believe me when I say that the place had atmosphere. One could definitely feel the presence of factory workers from the past!

One response

  1. Pingback: Industrial site in winter « Staffan's English Blog

Leave a Reply

