My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Living statues

First time I saw them was when I lived in Dublin. These pantomime artists used to stand on Grafton Street pretending to be statues until they suddenly moved. One thing that would make them move was when somebody threw money in their basket, hat or whatever they used to collect money in.

I found the first one in Stockholm in June and they seem to multiply here as well. This bronze coloured man looks a little grumpy, probably because the pedestrian just passed by without paying him any attention or money. One thing that made him smile happily was when I paid him a couple of crowns as a “Thank you, sir” for the photos I took of him.

Leave a Reply

